Fisherman’s Cottage dates from 18th Century and overlooks the bay of La Greve D’Azette. It has been sensitively restored to create a comfortable, cosy self-catering cottage.
With fabulous views across Havre des Pas, The Violet Bank (a recently declared Ramsar Wetland zone) and St. Clement’s Bay, Fisherman’s Cottage offers much more than meets the eye. Tucked away on Mount Bingham, this charming cottage has been lovingly restored by the Parish of St. Helier and is great for a ‘foodie’ break with close proximity to several of the island’s best restaurants and local suppliers of fresh produce.
Sleeping up to four people with a double bedroom, walk-in shower, fully equipped kitchen and a lovely wood-burning stove in the living area with a double sofa-bed, the Cottage provides a great home away from home all within a 10 minute walk to the centre of St. Helier, with shops and seaside bars and restaurants close by. The private garden overlooking the bay is also great for surveying the daily bustle of Havre des Pas, framed by Victorian architecture and promenade. Outside the garden gate is the start of La Collette Gardens with former Napoleonic barracks which now house the Jersey Field Squadron. If you wish to explore the island further, there is a parking space close to the cottage for guests to use.
Staying at Fisherman’s Cottage is staying somewhere with a story; from a watch house to a home and then a garden shed, the Cottage has had diverse uses over the years. During the excavation of the building, a clay pipe was found amongst building refuse dating the property between 1740 and 1760. Over time, the trusses also moved a few degrees off centre due to the original foundations failing, but this quirky feature was kept in the restoration along with the joists which are made with the recycled ribs of ships which once docked in the harbour, identifiable by the large peg holes.
Building work to restore the Cottage to what it is today commenced in 2011 and completed in August 2012. The restoration team carefully dismantled and reconstructed the gable walls, reusing the majority of the original panelling and doors to keep the traditional feel.